• Rhythmic-v1

Alexandra Atnif - Rhythmic Brutalism Vol. 1


Regular price
Romanian artist Alexandra Atnif finally has her early, self-released tape material pressed to wax across two LPs.

Inspired by the aesthetic and philosophical stylings of the Brutalist architecture movement, this pair of LPs sits at the noisier end of industrial techno and electro, mechanical rhythmic loops just barely anchoring the abrasive angularity of the rest of the music. In an Orwellian fashion, Atnif appropriates a broad range of musical techniques and inverts their meaning: atmospherics, instead of generating a sense of spaciousness, are drowning walls of feedback which consume and compress rather than expand.

It's uncomfortable listening, but this is exactly the intention - the extremes Atnif reaches across these LPs is rarely matched by others working in the same, but this reinforces the profundity of the music's message, and will certainly appeal to hardcore fans out there (of both brutalism and Industrial music... though we imagine the overlap is large). This unrelenting approach is the binding force between the various strains of techno, electro, drone and pure noise that occupy each disc.

Not one for the light-hearted crew, that's for sure.

Side 1
1. Pillars Of Insanity
2. Ephemeral Moments Of Mental Clarity
3. Adore & Detest
4. Perspective Transparencies
5. Acute Anxiety Neurosis
Side 2
1. I Said Destroy
2. Abandon Your Cities
3. Anthems Of The Deaf & Blind
4. Live In Shame
5. Perpetual Demystification

Pillars Of Insanity

Adore, Detest

Acute Anxiety Neurosis

Anthems of The Deaf & Blind