• Skyler

Joane Skyler - Serious Time LP


Regular price

Added to your cart!

<< Much needed re-stock of this excellent first LP on Kinlaw's Ceramics  label >>

Ceramics present a diverse collection of off-kilter electronic jams from Joane Skyler ranging from synth-heavy ambient all the way through to skewed dancefloor experimentalism.

Opener Qua Chh sets an ominous tone with washes of white noise and a flute melody offset against a gently repeating synth bass, while second track Basel goes AFX-esque with its queasy bassline and skipping kick-snare pattern.

Feeble channels some old-school electro vibes, with the briefest flashes of breakbeats and 8-bit sfx bleeding through the mix. Some highly inventive breakdowns and edits keep things going forward, and a special mention goes to that Rees-y low end burst.

Mm is just nuts - modal jazz samples and overblown 808s wrestle with manic bit-crushed sample-edits and flashes of '90s reminiscent synth bleeps - a masterful exercise in pure production chops and maintaining a consistent groove and vibe even with such disparate elements.

If all that wasn't tasty enough, other highlights include the grimy Sleep Spell with its manic Murlo-esque melody and distorted 808 subs all kept ticking over with insistent 1/16th hi hats, as well as Qualm, another electro-derivative with an addictive bassline and 4x4 groove.

The variation on offer here is absolutely stunning while still making for a complete and fully-realised album - a rarity these days. 

Side 1
1. "Qua Chh" (1:51)
2. "Basel" (2:44)
3. "Feeble" (3:28)
4. "Rng Rpg" (1:54)
5. "Mm" (4:22)
6. "OO Piano" (2:14)
Side 2
1. "Sleep Spell" (3:19)
2. "Stench" (2:54)
3. "Quoit" (2:46)
4. "Qualm" (3:10)
5. "Waterfell" (2:39)
6. "Health" (2:32)




Sleep Spell