Ol' Dirty Bastard - Return To The 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version

Music On Vinyl

Regular price

Added to your cart!

Wu's wickedest and wildest -

This LP has to be up up their at the very top of Wu's output, certainly the roughest and most undiluted of them all, Ol' Dirty Bastard (R.I.P.) delivers the lyrical goods in unsurpassable style, almost careless at times, it's exactly this impromptu, freestyled approach that makes this effort so goddam' golden.

Return To The 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version, was originally released in March 1995, and counted as Wu's second solo-outing.
These tracks represent ODB at his best, mad as a fruitcake, full of humour, lined with disguised genius and raw musicality and enthusiasm.
Featuring many of  his companions such as GZA, RZA, Method Man, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah and Masta Killa, as well as several Wu-Tang affiliates and Brooklyn Zu, this record captures the moment of Wu-Tang at it's height, from ODB's perspective.

He famously stated 'The Beatles' and 'Teddy Pendergrass' as influences, and in our opinion, whilst wildly differing from these artists, we'd like to think it can be counted up there with other musical masterpieces from the 21st century.

And of course one shouldn't forget the instrumentals, 90% RZA's productions, with some additional input by ODB and 4th Disciple... these are just plain bangin', up there with the best.

This record is as much Punk as it is Hip-Hop, it's D.I.Y. and full of attitude... ODB won't shy away from super-long intro's, sex scene skits and recordings of him holding his breath for as long as possible, before bursting into song... It's moments like these, tied in with a heap of exceeding tracks that make this record so magical, it's a rough and rumbling ride through ODB's mad, but genius mind.

Served in limited edition.
2 x heavyweight 180gsm 12".
Contains Colour insert.

1. "Intro"
2. "Shimmy Shimmy Ya"
3. "Baby, C'mon"
4. "Brooklyn Zoo"
5. "Hippa to da Hoppa"
6. "Raw Hide" (feat. Raekwon & Method Man)
7. "Damage" (feat. GZA)
8. "Don't U Know" (feat. Killah Priest)
9. "The Stomp"
10. "Goin' Down"
11. "Drunk Game (Sweet Sugar Pie)"
12. "Snakes" (feat. Killah Priest, RZA, Masta Killa & Buddha Monk)
13. "Brooklyn Zoo II (Tiger Crane)" (feat. Ghostface Killah)
14. "Proteck Ya Neck II The Zoo" (feat. Brooklyn Zu, Prodigal Sunn, Killah Priest, & 60 Second Assassin)
15. "Cuttin' Headz" (feat. RZA)

Side A

Side B

Side C

Side D