• PUB-main

Pub - Do You Ever Regret Pantomime?

Ampoule Records

Regular price

Added to your cart!

20th anniversary remastered reissue of a glaswegian ambient / skeletal dub techno beauty by 'Pub' on Ampoule Records -

Absolutely lush hazy Shinichi Atobe meets Porter Ricks type trips from the elusive 'Pub', who left a mark that is still felt with this 2Lp, now re-mastered 20 years on, and presented with a previously unreleased cut.

Super nice stuff, perfect cloud gazing music.
The aural equivalent of cocoon'd, slow motion mid-air excursion through endless horizons (we've done it, and can confirm it's pretty much exactly the same).

nah, seriously - you can't go wrong with this - that's a promise.

"Twenty years ago, somewhere in Scotland, an album that was the missing link between The Black Dog, Chain Reaction and Irdial was released by an enigmatic Glasgow producer called Pub, on his equally mysterious label Ampoule.

The album ‘Do You Ever Regret Pantomime?’ (2000) has become the stuff of local folklore, a key work in the UK’s rich history of IDM and ambient, and one of the most celebrated albums of the early noughties. Bizarrely, it even infiltrated the Billboard Top 100.

‘Do You Ever Regret Pantomime?’ is also very much a key statement from a producer who has chosen to stay in their own space, where everyone is welcome. Records like these are about losing yourself in the sound and creating your own universe to explore.

Over the record's 70 minutes or so you’re instantly wrapped in a deep matrix of spacious chords, abstract textures and gently shifting rhythms.

The 2020 reissue has been re-mastered and cut at Berlin’s Dubplates & Mastering, pressed as a 2x12” and features new artwork and a bonus track.

This release also heralds the return of Ampoule, the Glasgow label which released music from the likes of Lucky & Easy, Omens Jot and Moped Endo among others. Forthcoming releases will be a mixture of new music and re-issues from the archives."

2 x 12", mastered and cut at Dubplates & Mastering.
Remastered, served with previously unreleased track and updated artwork.

1. In The Meantime 04:55
2. Paper Aeroplane 14:49
3. Heavy Metal (Hand Over Fist) * 03:42
4. This Can't Be Happening 05:51
5. Vilees Wideoo 08:48
6. Luddite 02:11
7. Faggy Trax 02:02
8. Dilemma 06:28
9. Optimistic In Wonderland 08:03
10. Overcome 11:19
11. Slide Show 05:48

Paper Aeroplane

This Can't Be Happening

Vilees Wideoo