• Kassem-Mosse-edits

Simone White

Honest Jon's

Regular price

Added to your cart!

Sublime, tracking versions of tracks from Folk singer Simone White. Originally appearing on Honest Jon’s back in 2012 on the haunting ‘Silver Silver’ album, a masterpiece that followed on from her debut ‘I Am The Man’ album in 2007.

Slo-mo techno don and all round lo-fi hero is employed by HJ to refix some of the album material, and, as you might expect, it’s brilliant. ‘Flowers In May’, which occupies the whole of the A side, makes the most of White’s melancholy vocals, opening with a verse before looping a line up and dropping in his trademark drums that make his releases on Workshop so, SO good.

The flip sees a rework of ‘In The Water Where The City Ends’, this time, stripping the vocal right back, and pushing the textures and pads of the original to the front. ‘Long Moon’ closes the EP, the most muscular of the three versions, working a cavernous kick drum and ferric cymbal splashes around a wistful loop that could just as easily come from the Koyaanisqatsi soundtrack. Mesmerising stuff, Honest Jons are on a bit of a roll at the moment

Flowers In May

In The Water Where The City Ends

Long Moon